The Infernal Devices: Clockwork Angel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Infernal Devices: Clockwork Angel Cover Image
By Cassandra Clare, HyeKyung Baek (By (artist))
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Infernal Devices series.

Staff Reviews

Clockwork Angel is the first book in the Infernal Devices Trilogy, and in it, Cassandra Clare shows off her excellence yet again. This trilogy is a prequel to the Mortal Instruments series. Set in Victorian England, this novel is a unique blend of history, romance, urban fantasy and adventure. I loved the characters and their interactions so much, so I couldn’t stop reading until I was certain that they were okay at the end of each book. You will not be disappointed by this beautifully crafted trilogy, but be prepared! You will not be able to stop reading until you’ve plowed through all three! These books can be read before or after Cassandra Clare’s other series, since they’re set in the same world.

— Abby Walker

Winter 2011 Kids' Next List

“When 16-year-old Tessa Gray journeys from New York to London to join here brother, she is kidnapped and trapped in a fantastical world of werewolves, shape-changers and vampires. Tessa is rescued by the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of these demons. Tessa soon discovers who she might really be -- The Clockwork Angel -- and how she personifies the link between the Shadowhunters and demons in Victorian England.”
— Jack Blanchard, Fairy Godmother, Washington, DC


A prequel to Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices is the story of Tessa Gray, a sixteen-year-old American girl traveling alone to Victorian London who runs afoul of the city's sordid supernatural underworld. Rescued by the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, Tessa quickly finds herself caught up in an intrigue that may very well destroy her new friends - including the two enigmatic young men, Jem and Will, who have taken her under their wing...

About the Author

Cassandra Clare vaulted onto the publishing scene with her first YA novel, City of Bones, and has published three other bestselling novels in The Mortal Instruments series. First published in August of 2010, Clockwork Angel marked the first installment of Cassandra's The Infernal Devices trilogy and debuted at #1 on the New York Times list.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316200981
ISBN-10: 0316200980
Publisher: Yen Press
Publication Date: October 30th, 2012
Pages: 240
Language: English
Series: The Infernal Devices