Luna Ranchera (Hardcover)

Luna Ranchera By Rodrigo Morlesin, Mariana Ruiz Johnson (Illustrator), Sara Lissa Paulson (Translated by) Cover Image

Luna Ranchera (Hardcover)

By Rodrigo Morlesin, Mariana Ruiz Johnson (Illustrator), Sara Lissa Paulson (Translated by)

$18.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Welcome to the show! ¡Bienvenidos! This rags-to-riches tale of a doggy mother-daughter singing act in the Nuevo Wild West will enchant dog lovers, music lovers, and anyone looking for new Latinx voices.

This spellbinding original story opens in a cantina crowded with desert animals, cowboys, and cowgirls all excited to see the glamorous Luna Ranchera mother-daughter singing duo. Long ago, Luna was down on her luck, starving and struggling to feed her pups, reduced to thieving from nearby ranchers. One day, escaping another heist, Luna has to hide in the worst possible place: on top of a beehive! She howls in pain so loudly, it carries all across the desert. It turns out Luna’s musical wails are something special, captivating creatures far and wide. Her most rebellious pup, Ranchera, joins her, and soon the two become the famous howling singing act with the flea-bitten souls, Luna Ranchera! Immersive and unforgettable, with knockout, whimsical art, the tale ends with the lyrics to Luna Ranchera’s most famous song. Perfect for fans of Coco and Soul.
Rodrigo Morlesin is a book designer, author, translator, and children's literature expert. Rodrigo lives with his wife, his cat Lulo, and his dog, Elvis, in Mexico City. Luna Ranchera is his first picture book.

Mariana Ruiz Johnson is the author and artist of many books for children including While You Are Sleeping; Run, Little Chaski!: An Inka Trail Adventure; Shhh; Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes; and The Last Hazelnut. She lives in Buenos Aires, Argentina, with her husband, their two kids, and Cuca, an old black cat.
Product Details ISBN: 9781662651106
ISBN-10: 1662651104
Publisher: Minerva
Publication Date: June 20th, 2023
Pages: 56
Language: English
"A strikingly original story of overcoming the odds.....This rags-to-riches story of a mother-and-daughter pair making it big will pull at readers’ heartstrings....the writing has an appealingly folksy, tall-tale feeling. Reminiscent of Raul the Third’s artwork" -- Kirkus Reviews